OIl free Sponge Roll

I forgot to include this  in my earlier post about my baking course.  Below is one of the homework on swiss roll, the recipe called as Oil-free sponge roll.

Oil free sponge roll2   Oil free sponge roll1

Ingredients :

  • 40 gr + 80 gr sugar
  • 4 eggs (separate yolks and whites)
  • 30 gr cornflour
  • 50 gr cake flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence (optional)

Method :

  1. Whip yolks with 40 gr sugar until light and fluffy
  2. Whip egg whites with the rest 80 gr sugar till medium peak.
  3. Fold 1/3 of the egg whites into the yolk mixture.
  4. Fold in the sifted mixture alternate with some of whipped egg whites.
  5. Scrape the mixture into the lined tray and bake till cooked. (I used 190C for 15 minutes)

The result is a soft and delicious healthy roll, recommended to be consumed within 24 hrs after baking because despite the softness  of the texture ,the cake was a bit dry due to lack of oil/fat.

And yes I use butter cream  and chocolate chips as the filling (there goes the healthy oil free part),but if you are the health conscious one you can just spread fruit jam/jelly.

Happy baking.

7 thoughts on “OIl free Sponge Roll

    1. Hahaha, believe me it was indeed oil free.
      I guess the trick was to beat the egg yolk till really pale and fluffy as yolk contain some fat so those might the reason why the cake have enough moistness for the softness, moreover separate whipped egg whites kind of act as softener to the cake too.

    1. I remember the chef said that cornstarch kind of lowering the gluten level in the cake for softness even when the recipe is already using cake flour, not sure on the moistness, I will remember this and park this as a question when I attended my intermediate course 😉

    1. Yay… lovely yummy and healthy.
      Psst !!! I have to admit that I was a little skeptical in the first time when I saw the assignment of baking oil free cake, that’s why I had prepared the butter cream in advance for the cake filling with the thinking that I might need it to compensate the lack of cream in the cake. Hahaha what a bad student, hope my teacher did not read this (grinning mischievously ear to ear)

Leave a Reply

