Chiffon # 05 : Black Sesame Chiffon

Getting into day 5 I burst my bubble of confidence, today chiffon’s was not as good as I expected it to be. I over whipped my meringue  and upon folding them into the yolks batter, it started to show every sign of “Oh No”, I kept losing air bubbles and mixtures quickly turn into liquid instead the usual foamy kind.

Based on what I learn at baking course and previous failed attempt I now I can still bake and get a good taste but the cake won’t turn as high as usual nor as fluffy or airy as usual.

Normally my cake will rise to the edge of the tin, today it only rise to the middle.

Black Sesame Chiffon1

However they still taste good. Hopefully tomorrow Chiffon will be better.

Black Sesame Chiffon2

Black Sesame Chiffon3

Ingredients for Black Sesame Chiffon ( for 1 x 7″ tube tin)

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 40 gr sugar
  • Pinch of salt
  • 30 gr corn oil
  • 50 gr milk
  • 30 gr black sesame paste
  • 75 gr cake flour
  • 4 egg whites
  • 55 gr sugar
  • 1/8 tsp cream of tartar

Method :

  1. Stir yolks, salt, sugar ,  milk, oil and sesame paste with hand whisk in a bowl
  2. Sieve cake flour and fold into yolk mixture and mix until smooth
  3. Whisk egg white until bubbly, add cream of tartar then sugar and whisk until stiff before folding into the flour mixture
  4. Pour mixture into chiffon tube tin and bake till cooked at 190C for 35 minutes

I am not sure on how to grind a right sesame seed so I use this instant black sesame paste that I bought from Singapore.

Black sesame paste

Looking forward for tomorrow baking.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Chiffon # 05 : Black Sesame Chiffon

    1. Yeah, one good thing with chiffon, you can’t go wrong with the taste so despite lack of air, they are still edible and delicious. And as usual if I failed, I quickly eat and finish them all to get rid of the evidence 🙂

    1. Hi Fae, yes I’ve been to Japan 3 years ago however during the short 2 weeks trip I did not have enough time to explore everything. Come to think of it, it must be wonderful for you to spend childhood times in such fascinating country. I felt like I am a kid again when I spotted those cute unique things you can only find in Japan.

Leave a comment